Abergavenny Christmas Trial December 27 2006

Abergavenny Auto Club Christmas Trial

27th December 2006

A good entry of 45 riders forced themselves away from watching Steve McQueen once again failing to jump fences on the Swiss border, to have a go themselves in the mud and streams near the Welsh border at Park Farm, Llangattock Lingoed.

The 8 sections were set-out in the main streamway through the farmland, with steep and slippery slopes , a couple of waterfalls, tree roots and rock steps for all. Section 1proved to be the hardest for the Sportsman, running on the easiest of the three routes, with a very slippery exit that got worse as the trial went on. Only Bob Griffiths, on his way to a convincing win, managed to get through the end cards on each lap. The Clubman had a tight turn, but a longer run up to the slippery slope, with a number of cleans. Sections 2 to 5 continued up the stream, with the steep drop at the start of Section 2 proving interesting for the drum brakes of the twinshock contingent. Sections 6 to 8 were on the other side of the stream, with section 7 having a long muddy exit which got easier once a deep furrow had been ploughed though it.

There was little difference between a clean and a 5 on most sections and maybe it was because of this that experience won through from the Clubman route, with Merthyr’s Martin Jones taking the win by three marks from fellow club member Nick Morgan. Course Plotter, Matthew Johnson and Alistair Bedford were the only pair to tackle the Expert route, both riding well on a demanding route.
The ever enthusiastic twinshock contingent were out to beat current Wye Valley champion Alan Gould, who put down his below-par performance on the day for being on the ‘wrong’ Honda TL250. Paul Mahoney on his Yamaha came out in front, narrowly ahead of Brian Johnson on his Fantic 200, who was making a welcome return to riding.

Abergavenny AC would like to thank the landowner for letting us use the land again, and to the Landlord of the Hunter’s Moon, Llangattock Lingoed for putting on the food after the trial. He wasn’t expecting so many, but neither was the club The club will be running a 6 round championship in 2007, at some excellent venues in Monmouthshire.


Matthew Johnson 35

Youth Expert
Alistair Bedford 78

Martin Jones 12 , Nick Morgan 15, Nibbs Adams 15, Shane Carless 22, Dai Bedford 23

Robert Griffiths 17, Alan Thomas 32, Steven Andrews 36, Justin Fowler Bishop 51, P J Griffiths 53

Paul Mahoney 46, Brian Johnson 48, Kevin Petit 52

Youth Sportsman
Gavin Griffiths 61


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *